Personal Training

 

"I normally don't write reviews but this one is overdue. I wanted a trainer because I needed a lifestyle change. I had no body strength whatsoever. I've had a gym membership my entire life, to me it was a waste of $50 a month on average for the last two decades. My goal was strength building and toning. I have now been training with Teresa three months. I'm 15lbs down and I can feel my body has gotten stronger. She is flexible and effective and most important understanding. Teresa is more than accommodating to my injuries and discomforts which is why I am on my 13th week of training. She will work with you on the areas that bother you the most and will be real with you on things you need to do. Results can never be achieved overnight but if you want to train with someone who will push you and motivate you to work harder I recommend Teresa!"

- Tom S. on April 23, 2019

“I have the highest possible regard for Teresa Mazzarella.  I was exercising almost entirely doing cardio and my doctor recommended me to do some body core and resistance. My problem was that I didn’t know how to use and adjust the machines. I retained Teresa to show me how to use the resistance machines properly. She has written an excellent book “The Wellness Compass” in which I have learned some useful things. But she did not force her expert knowledge on me. Instead she concentrated on what I had asked her to do. Because I respond well to the written word she wrote detailed instructions on warm up exercises and how to adjust and use the resistance machines. She did her job so well that I am now exercising alone but I have asked her to come back in two weeks to cure any bad habits that I will develop. I wholeheartedly recommend Teresa to anyone who needs a competent well qualified personal trainer who listens and responds well to whatever you ask her to do.”

- Richard M. on April 19, 2019

"Teresa is an amazing and talented person. I had recently finished with spine clinic visits following an excruciating ruptured spinal disc. I found myself physically and mentally out of shape afterwards and knew I needed help. Well, wouldn't you know, shortly afterwards, I met Teresa at a local park and knew immediately that meeting her was meant to be.  She started working with me addressing specific needs for strengthening and she always remains concerned about how I'm doing afterwards. She is expert at tailoring or modifying workouts to benefit me the most, but within my abilities. I'm happily still working with Teresa, but after 10 weeks I can't believe the strength and balance I've gained. I had residual nerve damage from my injury, but currently I have no pain at all, and can do more than I could prior to my injury. Teresa is extremely knowledgeable - she knows exactly what I need, not to mention my new-found confidence again, since I didn't believe it was possible to "fix me"! Very pleased, and Teresa is a very good person to work with and to know."

- Carol F. on March 29, 2019

"I've been working with Teresa since August 2018 and as of this writing she's helped me shed close to 40 lbs. I took a chance getting a personal trainer because I had been intimidated going to a gym and I lacked the will to hold myself accountable for my well-being. Teresa has been a revelation with her workouts that and her nutritional advice. Before I never planned out meals or cared about nutritional content, but now I religiously meal prep every week and keep the calories low. In short working with Teresa has been great for life from her butt kicking workouts and willingness to scale things back, her nutrition advice, her check-ins that help keep me accountable, and also her consideration about my mental health as well. If you're looking to try working with a personal trainer I definitely recommend Teresa."

-Alonzo J. on Jan 6, 2019

"Great program, tailored to me!! Teresa helped me drop sizes by creating custom meal plans that are easy to follow and yummy as well! I told her what foods I liked, my exercise routine (minimal), how much weight i needed to lose, and my target date to lose the weight. Her meals are easy to cook, chosen by me, and keep me feeling full. I'm already seeing the results! I like that specifically tailors each persons meal plan to their food preferences and health goals. It makes it much easier to stick with! 

I might add an exercise program in the future but right now the diet is already showing it's results. :)"

-Sara M. on Aug 13, 2018

 

"Without you, I would not have lost this weight, and been on the road to losing more weight!  I could not have done this without you. You pushed me and I needed that- thank you!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                     -Sandra W. on July 23, 2018

 

"Since beginning a coaching program with Teresa, I think about my goals in chunks of time instead of as the end goal. I am more positive about celebrating the small accomplishments and taking time for myself. This has been a great experience and I really appreciate the support and ideas I have gained."

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    -Crystal H. on June 29, 2018

 

"I worked with Teresa for 3 months. She is a dedicated and knowledgeable personal trainer. She has a radiant personality and she loves what she does!  When I had trouble recalling the workouts, she would always show me how to do them again and again till I got them right. Highly recommend her!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    -Theresa F. on May 23, 2018

 

"Lifestyle coaching with Teresa has been a wonderful experience! I think the only thing I’d change is seeking a bit of information on a workout plan (structured for a few nights a week after work ) as I stand blankly in the gym, not knowing where to start or some meal plans. Thank you so much for your time and believing in me :)"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                          -Sarah B. on May 2, 2018

 

"Teresa is a great personal trainer and an awesome person. Before I started working out with her I had been intimated to do a lot of things in the gym but now I'm much more comfortable. Over the course of a year and a half I lost about 15 lbs and have been able to keep it off for six months. Thank you!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                      -Sarah C. on April 22, 2018

 

"I have reorganized my kitchen, shop at Smart and Final for bulk items, and I have been educated with great shopping lists. I have also lost some weight and feel in alignment, finally, with who I am around food. I also received great advice about how to handle social events, and to make sure I eat healthy fat, which I think has made all the difference for me. I have never felt that I am starving, and I feel like I'm taking care of my brain. The coaching sessions always keep me present about my reality around food and my goals. I always look forward to our sessions and I like seeing the wrap-up emails. I also appreciate the goals for the week. :)"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    -Penny S. on March 21, 2018

 

"The most valuable thing I have learned from coaching with Teresa is that I am able to focus more on specific tasks that will ultimately help me get to where I need to be to accomplish my goals. Very short-term goals (weekly) make all the difference."

                                                                                                                                                                                                                      -Chi Chi on March 17, 2018

 

"Teresa is an all-around awesome trainer and lifestyle coach. She has taught me so much. Not only do the workouts kick my butt, she's helped me understand lots of nutrition information and has helped me break through tons of mental barriers. In the past 6 months, I have been able to change my lifestyle and lose 34 pounds! " 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    -Shelby G. on March 8, 2018

 

"I met Teresa about a year and a half ago and I just love her energy and wisdom!  This past Monday I had a session with her at the grocery store. She was very helpful and knowledgeable on nutrition. Gave me awesome tips and what to buy and what to stay away from. As well as how to read labels. I love the energy that she brings to her clients. You can just tell that fitness/health is her passion. I am beyond excited to keep in contact with her. Not only for nutrition guidance but also for workouts. Thank you Teresa, for being a kick ass trainer but also for making me feel more than just a client!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                          -Monica O. on December 12, 2017

 

"Teresa has changed my life.  She is an amazing personal lifestyle coach. We have mostly communicated by phone,  but over the last 5 months I have lost 15 pounds and brought my blood pressure to within a normal range  Also, I’ve made lasting changes in my nutrition choices, my exercise habits, and even my housekeeping habits. Setting weekly goals with Teresa and being accountable at the end of the week has had amazing outcomes! The personal menu plans she can provide, based on your likes and dislikes are also incredibly satisfying.  She’s always professional, punctual  and really tunes into what’s holding you back and gets you moving forward!"   

                                                                                                                                                                                                         -Suzanne B. on November 27, 2017

 

"Teresa was my weight loss coach for several weeks, and  I lost the ten pounds I needed to by using her custom made meal plan. She reached out to check in with me and offered suggestions every couple days. The best part was I never had any hunger during the meal plan!! This was the only diet plan that worked for me, and I've referred my girlfriends to her with great results. She is a great inspiration and effective coach!!!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                   -Barb M. on October 11, 2017

 

"Teresa is a marvel at creating personalized programs.  I have had Personal Trainers in the past who were very good at implementing their program; Teresa designed and implemented MY program specializing on the age-appropriate balance and strength goals we discussed.  She consistently varies the workouts to move the weekly areas of focus while maintaining the overall target.  Regular measurement checkups tell the story!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                     -Charles C. on April 4, 2017

 

"Teresa is a great trainer, incorporating variety into every workout. She really listens to you when starting out and checks in with you to make sure everything is on track. Her diet and nutrition advice is non-fad based and rigorous. Work with Teresa and you will meet your goals!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                         -Torry D. on April 3, 2017

 

"I had never worked with a personal trainer before because I always figured I didn't need one. After just my first session with Teresa I was kicking myself for waiting this long and have loved every session since! She always checks in with where I am - mentally and physically, is mindful of my goals and limitations, and challenges me to push myself in ways I would have never tried on my own. In such a short span I've seen improvements in my strength and confidence. She is an excellent trainer, I can't recommend her enough!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                           -Julia B. on April 2, 2017

 

"I love working out with Teresa! She took the time to get to know me and where I was in terms of fitness. I like variety when it comes to working out and I needed someone who would be willing to work with my schedule. Teresa was my solution. She gradually pushes me to challenge myself and try new things (even when I complain ;). She is patient, prepared, on time and highly knowledgeable. Equally as important, she always checks in with me to see how my life (outside of the gym) is going. She really does care about her clients. I would highly recommend Teresa to anyone that is looking for an authentic personal training experience."

                                                                                                                                                                                                                       -Jessica D. on April 1, 2017

 

"Teresa is a great trainer. She motivated me when I had none and she worked around my really hectic schedule. I could see and feel the difference. I would recommend her to anyone. Thank you Teresa!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                               -Chelsey S. on October 3, 2016

 

"I am so happy that I decided to work with Teresa! I came to Teresa with the goal of losing 5-10 pounds before my wedding and building muscle tone. She made me a custom meal plan that was easy to follow. Amazingly, with her meals plans, I've actually been eating lots of food! I am just eating food that is better for me and more satiating than what I was eating before. For example, I learned the right kind of snacks to eat during the day to keep me full (and keep me from reaching for the vending machine...). The meals she gives are all easy to prepare, and because she puts you on a plan, it's easy to get into a routine so you eat healthy without having to think too hard about it.

As for the work outs, I don't really respond to the "drill instructor" type, and that's not Teresa. She is really pleasant and encouraging, although the work outs are plenty challenging! I have actually enjoyed them, and as a bonus, she is really flexible about scheduling. .

Now, after two months working with Teresa, I've met my goal and lost 9 pounds! I am also seeing muscle definition I've never had before. I have gone from disliking my arms to loving them and reaching for sleeveless tops and dresses! Although I've met my weight loss goal, I'm definitely going to stick with the food and cooking habits she taught me. Working with Teresa has also gotten me really motivated and excited about working out and being in shape. I really cannot recommend Teresa enough. She's a life changer!"     

                                                                                                                                                                                                                     -Shannon S. on July 6, 2016

 

"For anyone who has ever been on the fence about an investment in personal training, let me tell you this; JUST DO IT! After training with Teresa for 1 month my investment paid off in spades in the way of increased physical fitness, muscle tone, weight loss, energy and confidence. You cannot put a price tag on feeling good about yourself, so don't deny yourself that opportunity.Teresa is 100% committed to your success and your goals, not just in personal training, but in life as well. She can help you stay accountable and design fitness and meal plans to make sure you get the results you want. She creates workouts that are interesting and challenging enough to keep you engaged, but not so difficult that you get frustrated or discouraged. Her positive attitude and encouraging words kept me on the right track throughout our sessions. I signed up for 20 sessions and I'm so in love with the results I've gotten, that I'm signing up for 20 more. It is worth every penny!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                     -Colby H. on March 4, 2016

"Training with Teresa was a great experience! She is knowledgeable on various techniques, has a dedicated personality, and gave me a great workout that had me feeling accomplished and energized. The equipment was new and clean. She met up with a friend and I at a local park where we worked core, ran sprints, lifted weights and even a friendly game of tug-of-war! I recommend working out with Teresa."

                                                                                                                                                                                                              -Tyson G. on November 6, 2015

 

"Couldn't be happier. Teresa was the best option for a trainer as she could meet locally in a nearby park and has a great understanding of functional training and how to appropriately scale the particular exercises. She also incorporates a lot of body weight exercises and uses a minimal set of equipment, which provides the opportunity to learn workout methods that can be used anywhere."

                                                                                                                                                                                                                  -Justin R. on October 31, 2015

 

"Excellent trainer. Helped me obtain my target body weight in a very fast and safe way. Very knowledgeable about all nutrition, she offers great meal and workout planning too!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    -Juan S. on October 29, 2015

 

"I look forward to Teresa's group training class every weekend! Always a good work out and love the variety of circuits she comes up with every time. She pushes and motivates you to keep going. The smaller group setting is nice, because she makes sure to give everyone personal attention. I always leave sweaty and feeling good!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                -Kelsey L. on October 27, 2015

 

"Teresa is better than other trainers I have had because she listens. She is tuned into what you are saying and can read between the lines. When you speak with her you are having a real conversation with someone who can and wants to help you instead of a standard trainer just trying to fill their 5 pm slot. Teresa is on the journey with you and that helped me maintain motivation which I have struggled with in the past. Beyond her obvious knowledge I strongly recommend her because of her ability to listen, connect, and tailor a program to best help the client."

                                                                                                                                                                                                                  -Mike W. on October 18, 2015

 

"I met with Teresa for the first time on a trip to San Diego, and was impressed by her level of knowledge and her professionalism. Now we meet regularly via the phone & Skype (I'm on the east coast), and she reviews my meal plans and food journals via myfitnesspal.com. It's so good to be able to do this all from my home, and she's so reasonably priced... but the biggest thing is, it's been so effective! I'm stronger than I was two months ago, and the two weeks after my first meeting with her, I changed up my eating so much that I lost 7 lbs! Thank you, Teresa, for everything!!!!!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                             -Jessica K. on September 1, 2015

 

"I have completed over 20 personal training courses with Teresa. I highly recommend her services. She custom tailored a variety of training sessions for me which kept me motivated and excited to track the increase of my fitness level. Personal training is the best way to be accountable and put your fitness to a whole new level. Once you start a personal training program you won't want to quit!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                   -Tracy N. on August 25, 2015

 

"I live in British Columbia, Canada and travel to San Diego frequently, and have worked out with Teresa for a number of years whenever I'm in town. I have MS, and have certain physical limitations, which Teresa easily and creatively incorporated into my workouts, while still pushing me to challenge myself! Teresa is extremely service-oriented, accommodating and attentive to my particular needs, both in terms of my crazy schedule and physical requirements. She is very friendly, and made me feel comfortable right away. I also appreciated the creativity and variety that she built into my workouts. She's definitely my go-to trainer anytime I'm in SD!!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                         -Halli M. on June 21, 2015

 

"Teresa is warm, caring, and interested in her clients, while at the same time professional and dedicated to her craft. While I worked with her I was particularly aware of her commitment to making sure my form was correct and that we were maximizing the exercises to fit my body's needs. Her sure knowledge and gentle push was just what I needed. I highly recommend her!!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                             -Liz S. on June 21, 2015

 

"Teresa greatly helped me with my balance instability and improved my upper body strength. She was very patient and careful to consider my physical limits. I will contact her in the future if I need more help. She is a very good trainer."

                                                                                                                                                                                                                      -Sharon E. on June 12, 2015

 

"I participated in Teresa's group exercise training on a weekly basis. I love working out in groups and having someone be able to motivate me and Teresa definitely does the job of pushing you to surpass your limits and encouraging you along the way! She is super friendly, throws in tons of fun and different exercises to keep things exciting, and is always willing to come up with modifications if needed for injuries. Teresa makes a point to learn everyone's names and gets to know her clients on a personal basis so she can make the workout best fit your needs. I truly feel energized, motivated, and have so much fun working out with her! Looking forward to her next session of classes!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                         -Stella E. on June 12, 2015

 

"I started off extremely hesitant with getting a trainer. I go to school for kinesiology at Sdsu and figured that I know what I need to know to loose wait. But I was have ing trouble sticking to my routine. Teresa was absolutely wonderful! Not only did she help me stick to my routine and meet my goals, she went above and beyond by sending me positive and motivational text messages and she even wrote out a diet plan for me. She is very inspirational and will keep anyone on the right track to meeting there goals no matter what they are. Thanks Teresa! U are the best!!"

                                                                                                                                                                                                                      -Kristina S. on June 3, 2015